60th IPC to be held in New Delhi

60th IPC to be held in New Delhi

At the outset of deciding the minutes of the meeting of the Local Organising Committee (LOC), of 60th IPC 2008, held on 7th April, it was also declared that the 60th Indian Pharmaceutical Congress (IPC) will be held in New Delhi from 12th to 14th December, 2008, at Netaji Subash Institute of Technology.

The conference is being organised by Indian Pharmacy Graduates’ Association. IPGA is a federating body of Indian Pharmaceutical Congress Association along with other four bodies, namely, IPA (Indian Pharmaceutical Association), APTI (Association of Pharmaceutical Teachers of India), AIDCOC (All India Drugs Control Officers Confederation) and IHPA (Indian Hospital Pharmacists Association).

The congress will be attended by more than 7,500 delegates from the field of pharma, marketing, R&D, quality control, quality assurance, academics, regulatory departments, hospital and community pharmacy etc from India and abroad.

The presentation for 60th IPC, 2008, was presented, highlighting the venue i.e. NSIT, Dwarka, its key features, which is connectivity to Delhi Metro, ample space for parking, huge grounds for arranging scientific sessions, hospitality and exhibition pandals etc. Those present among the LOC members included Atul Nasa, President, IPGA and Organising Secretary-LOC, and Dr Surinder Singh, Chairman-LOC and Drugs Controller General of India.

It was also decided that Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) will be the official organising partner and Express Pharma as the official media partner for 60th IPC.

  • To discuss latest development in the field of pharmaceutical sciences

  • Development of new molecules of drugs, R&D and new drug delivery systems.

  • Academic upliftment

  • Global scenarios in pharmaceutical sciences/industry

  • Healthcare system

  • Issues related to drug laws

  • To upgrade and advance the technology available for drugs of international standards etc.

  • Chairman Dr Surinder Singh, DCG(I)
  • Co-chairmen: Prof.(Dr) S.S.Agrawal, SL Sobti, Dr Himadri Sen, SL Nasa, P D Sheth, PP Sharma, Dr G N Singh
  • Organising Secretary Atul Kumar Nasa
  • Associate Secretaries Shirish K Dabhade, Lalit Goel, S P Singh, G Dharmadata, Anjani Kumar, Utpal Chaudhuri
  • Joint secretaries Dr Devender Pathak, Nitin Deore, M N Rao Gupta, Kapil Dhiman, Parjinder Singh, Tapan Chaudhuri, R P Chaudhary
  • Co-ordinators Surbhi Khanna Secretarial office Hema Chaudhary
  • Treasurer Dr Arun Garg
  • Associate treasurer: Rajiv Bhatia