A starry hue dazzles the summer night as excellence takes wings – Pharma Awards – Express Pharma Pulse

A starry hue dazzles the summer night as excellence takes wings
EPP News Bureau – Mumbai

Last Friday, Express Pharma Pulse, keeping with the tradition, gave away the second edition of Express Pharma Pulse Awards for Pharmaceutical Excellence amidst pomp and gaiety. The event witnessed a conglomeration of some of the biggest names in the pharmaceutical industry along with upcoming corporates. There was jubilant mood everywhere as chieftains from within and outside the industry were recognised for their outstanding contribution to the pharmaceutical industry.

There were ten awards altogether. Six awards for the best overall performance. And four special recognitions. Mumbai-based Sun Pharmaceuticals, Mumbai-based Pfizer Ltd and Unichem Laboratories, Pune-based Emcure Pharmaceuticals and Serum Institutes India Ltd and Delhi-based Morepen Laboratories bagged the awards in overall performance category. The companies were assessed in seven categories A, B, C, D, E and F based on their market share, growth, new product launches and total sales. The award mementoes were given away by Vinay Kohli, secretary to Government of India, Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers.

Dr Reddy’s Laboratories of Hyderabad was the first to receive under the Special Category the Best Exporter Award. V Swaminathan, vice-president received the award. Best Bulk Drug Company is a newly constituted award in the special category. This too was bagged by another Hyderabad-based pharmaceutical major Aurobindo Pharmaceuticals. The Pune-based Serum Institutes won the special recognition award. P K Sholapurwala, director, received the award.

But the biggest applause appeared to be reserved for Dr Yusuf K Hamied, chairman and managing director, Cipla, who received the Lifetime Achievement Award. ‘‘I represent the national sector pharma industry and accept this with a deep sense of humility on behalf of the national sector,’’ said the visibly moved Dr Hamied. The citation said: “Dr Yusuf K Hamied, one of the Indian pharmaceutical industry’s most successful technocrat, obtained his Ph D under the Nobel Laureate, Lord Alexander Todd from Cambridge at the age of 23. His shrewd business acumen and intellect, amply endowed by genetic inheritance has charted an impressive growth for Cipla in the past four decades.’’

The award mementoes for the special category were given away at the hands of the honourable minister S S Dhindsa, Union Minster of Chemicals and Fertilisers.

Addressing the occasion, Dhindsa said, ‘‘The government has recently announced Pharmaceutical Policy 2002 in order to direct the inputs more towards promoting accelerated growth of the pharmaceutical industry and towards making it more internationally competitive.’’ ‘‘Worldwide, in industries such as pharmaceuticals, companies invest millions of dollars in research. Indian companies lack the critical mass to sustain such a level of research activity. While there is no shortage of intellectual talent in India, companies need support and encouragement to make rapid advances in R&D,’’ he added.

Another significant moment of the event was William Machtiger’s speech on Pharma perspective: Charting a Global Course to Success. Speaking on the occasion, he said, ‘‘ Quality of life is determined by quality of health. And as we look to the past, we look importantly to the future which brings more important aspect of the contribution that the industry makes in maintaining quality of life in every category, every area, every population group. So if we want to chart the past, we have come quiet a long way. From river blindness to cancer to control of cholesterol to infectious disease, the industry has made rather significant contribution on value for money basis, on value for quality of life basis, what touches everybody everywhere in the world.’’

N V Ramamurthy, editor, Express Pharma Pulse, in his speech explained the concept, objectives and modalities of the award. He also explained the need for instituting a separate award for best bulk drugs company.

Vaneet Chhibber, CEO, Business Publications Division, The Indian Express Group, welcomed the guests. Manish Patel, COO, BPD, proposed the vote of thanks.

The awards were co-sponsored by Clestra Cleanroom, Fabtech Technologies, Neela Group, Petals Engineers Pvt Ltd, Pharma Plan, Spectrum Consultants and Teknopak.