First ISCR annual conference on clinical research

First ISCR annual conference on clinical research

An exclusive scientific convention focusing on clinical research is being organised by the Indian Society for Clinical Research (ISCR) from January 13 to 15, 2008 at Hotel Hyatt Regency, Mumbai. The conference will have a one day pre-conference workshop on January 13, which will discuss a detailed presentation on India, US and EU CT regulatory environment.

The main two-day conference will take place from January 14 to 15, 2008. The objective of the convention is to provide a forum for professional development of participants and contribute to raising the bar for clinical research. The convention will also provide an opportunity for networking and shaping the policy environment in the country. The theme of the conference is ‘Clinical Research in India—leaping into the global arena’.

The conference scientific committee will be chaired by Dr Arun Bhatt, President, ClinInvent Research, and Dr Chandrashekhar N Potkar, Director-Clinical Research, Pfizer India, along with other members, who are stalwarts in their areas of expertise.

This convention will discuss updates in the field of clinical research through focused topics, national and international subject matter experts and carefully crafted scientific programmes. Participants will be able to get all that they need to know about status of clinical research policy and operations in India.

ISCR was launched in June 2005 as a professional association of all stakeholder groups involved in clinical research. Its members include institutions/companies involved in clinical research, individual members from the clinical research industry, investigators and site staff, members of institutional ethic committees and others interested and trained in clinical research.

This is a registered society with a charter to represent interests of clinical research community through engaging in capacity building and activities to shape the professional environment. ISCR consists of institutional members like Eli Lilly, Johnson & Johnson, MSD, Novartis, Pfizer, Reliance, ClinInvent, Clinysis, CRI, Manipal Acunova, Neeman Medical, Pharmanet, Quintiles, and Siro. Four councils, namely the training council, ethics council, regulatory council and media/events council organise the various activities/initiatives undertaken by the organisation.